When I first started on my journey to become a bikini competitor I was terrible at meal prep. I never got enough food, I never had enough containers, and I never had enough room in my backpack to carry my day’s worth of meals. It was so stressful and made meal prep absolutely miserable. However, everything changed and my life became a lot easier when I started using the “gallon baggie method” as introduced by one of my favorite fitness inspirations- Michelle Bishop (You can find her instructional video here ) .

This section of the Bikini Prep Series will give you some tips to successfully shop for your meal plan groceries, and will walk you through the infamous “gallon baggie method”. This method makes meal prep more manageable, organized, and painless, so be sure to give it a try next time you make your meals in advance!

Gallon Baggie Method

TO BEGIN

Once you have your meal plan set up, take the time to calculate how much product you need BEFORE going to the store. I always take my meal plan that is provided to me by Brandan Fokken, convert the ounces of each protein or carb into pounds (which can be done using google), multiply them by 7 (days in the week), and write these right on my grocery list. Obviously this will be different for everyone, depending on how your coach provides your measurements. It will also be different for those or of you who are simply trying to follow a strict diet on your own. Ensuring that you have all of your appropriate measurements ready beforehand will make getting the right amount of food easier than simply guessing how many packages you need.


MY GROCERY LIST WOULD THEN LOOK LIKE THIS:

  • egg whites
  • oatmeal
  • 1.3 lbs of chicken
  • 1.75 lbs of turkey
  • 2.19 lbs of beef
  • (etc…)

GALLON BAGGIE METHOD

You will need:

  • Gallon Bags
  • Snack Bags
  • Quart-Size Bags
  1. Cook up all your meats, veggies, and carbs, then set them out on your counter.
  2. Label your gallon baggies with each day of the week (ie: Monday, Tuesday..)
  3. Weigh and portion your larger meals into the quart size bags and label with appropriate meal number (ie: Meal 1, Meal 2…)
  4. Weigh and portion your smaller snacks into the snack bags and label with meal number.
  5. Place your entire days worth of meals into the appropriate gallon baggie!

TADA! Easy peasy! I love this method for several reasons. Using baggies rather than tupperware allows for more carrying space, you don’t need to wash a million containers, and it is a great way to pack food for travelling through airports!

HAPPY MEAL PREPPING! 

