Since I am currently in my off season, and am eating intuitively rather than keeping a strict diet (only until the fall), I’m taking the opportunity to use my spare time to experiment with new recipes that are prep friendly. My coach, Brandan Fokken, provides me with a weekly meal plan, and since I have never been very creative with food, I’ve always just eaten what I was told in the most basic way possible (Ie. crock-pot chicken with steamed broccoli). My current goal is to find recipes that are both easy and delicious, and that will help me  get a little bit more variety out of my meal plan. Of course, you,  my followers will benefit from my experimentation, and all of my bikini prep friendly creations will be shared in the Bikini Prep Series! Woohoo!

I won’t lie- this first recipe isn’t the most exciting thing to look at, and I was definitely nervous to hand a bowl full of green zucchini to my taste tester (my boyfriend). But, to my surprise, he approved and even went for seconds! If that isn’t convincing enough for you to give this a try, then I don’t know what is!

image1

What you will need:

For noodles

  • 1 LB Zucchini
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • All purpose seasoning
  • Pepper
  • A spiralizer, a julienne peeler, or a cheese grater (yes, this works!)

I got my slicer from home sense.

For sauce

  • 1LB 99% Lean Ground Turkey
  • 1/2 c Light Ragu (no sugar added)

Directions:

Wash and slice 1LB of zucchini to make small, noodle like pieces.

image2.

Cook your ground turkey in a sauce pan on medium heat, ensuring that there is no pink left. Once browned, turn to low and add in 1/2 c spaghetti sauce. Leave this on low and begin your noodles.

Heat oil in a large sauce pan, then add your zucchini noodles. Cook for 3-5 minutes. Noodles should be soft, but not mushy.

image3

Throw 1 cup zucchini noodles and 1/2 cup turkey sauce together in a bowl.

image4

ENJOY this low carb, bikini prep friendly meal!

Macros:

This nutritional information is based on 1 cup zucchini, and 1/2 cup turkey sauce.

  • Cals: 157
  • Carbs: 11g
  • Fat: 5.5g
  • Protein: 14.4g

Do you have any awesome recipes that you use during bikini prep? Leave a link or comment below for an opportunity to be featured on my blog!

 

